ФЭНДОМ


Godzilla Monster of Monsters NES

Godzilla: Monster of Monsters! (яп. ゴジラ Gojira, букв. Годзилла) - видеоигра 1988 года, созданная Compile для Nintendo Entertainment System.

Сюжет

"В 2XXX году, когда орбиты Плутона и Нептуна меняют позиции, Земля получает объявление войны из неизвестной планеты.

Захватчики из Планеты X напали на Землю как часть своего плана захватить всю вселенную, используя легион космических монстров. Земля отправляет Годзиллу и Мотру, чтобы защититься. Годзилла проходит через боевые зоны, так называемые Ринговые Поля, установленные в областях между планетами, чтобы сразиться с легионом космических монстров, управляемых Планетой X. Годзилла должен пробиться с одного Рингового Поля к другому, и наконец победить Кинг Гидору на Планете X, чтобы защитить Землю. Ради будущего Земли, жестокая битва Годзиллы начинается сейчас..."

Свойства персонажей

И Годзилла, и Мотра начинают игру на первом уровне и с ограниченным количеством здоровья и энергии. Монстры получают уровни, побеждая боссов и некоторые разновидности этапов (Руины и Гиперпространство); каждый раз, когда Годзилла и Мотра получают новый уровень, у них увеличивается максимальное количество здоровья и энергии. Максимальный уровень - 16.

Шкала здоровья восстанавливается после победы над боссом или после подбирания Жизненной Капсулы. Шкала энергии восстанавливается сама по себе, и чем больше у монстра здоровья, тем быстрее она восстанавливается.

Прохождение

Чтобы перейти на следующий мир, каждый оставшийся монстр должен перейти на этап базы штаб-квартиры. На следующем ходу, игрок должен выбрать монстра, не перемещаясь, и игра даст вам выбор перейти на следующий мир. Если Годзилла или Мотра умрут перед прохождением, мёртвый монстр вернётся в следующем мире, однако он потеряет один уровень. Стоит отметить, что если Годзилла или Мотра перейдёт на следующий уровень, а оставшийся монстр будет уничтожен, то игра будет окончена. Также на уровнях присутствуют уровни так называемого "гиперпространства", где игрок может сразиться с Готеном из фильма "Война в космосе", клетками Догоры или Матанго. Победа в этих уровнях даёт игроку дополнительный уровень.

Персонажи

Играбельные персонажи

Боссы

Каждый мир содержит по 2-8 боссов, в зависимости от того, насколько далеко зашёл игрок. Боссы будут двигаться к игроку, чтобы атаковать его на пути ко вражеской базе. Игроку необязательно убивать боссов (за исключением Кинг Гидоры) для прохождения, но от них очень трудно сбежать, и бой неизбежен. Стоит отметить, что битвы с боссами длятся всего 40 секунд, после чего бой оканчивается ничьёй и оба монстра возвращаются на поле боя; в случае ничьи, здоровье вражеского кайдзю немного восстановится (это различается между японской и английской версиями игры).

Основные боссы

Godzilla: Monster of Monsters имеет восемь боссов, некоторые из которых ни разу прежде не появлялись в фильмах о Годзилле. В каждом мире (кроме Нептуна) добавляется новый босс, с которым игроку придётся сражаться вместе с до этого побеждёнными боссами. Боссы в игре следующие (по порядку появления):

Другие персонажи

Вырезанные персонажи

Благодаря исследованию кода игры и базы спрайтов, Родан и Ангирус были обнаружены. Ангирус, имеющие название "ANGILAS" в игре, играбелен в японской версии Monster of Monsters посредством чит-кодов. Однако, он не имеет никаких атак, кроме "разрушительной ходьбы". Родан имеет спрайт на поле боя в обеих версиях игры, в то время как его спрайты существуют в её коде. Неиспользуемый спрайт летающей формы Хэдоры появляется в титрах игры.

Глюки

Gezora Cheating

Гезора загоняет Мотру в угол

В игре присутствует несколько глюков, одни из которых полезны для игрока, а другие же напротив, замедляют его. Гезора может загнать монстра игрока в угол и постоянно задерживать его пока таймер не кончиться. С другой стороны, Могера может застрять в анимации заряда луча на время, что позволяет игроку быстро уничтожить его.

Чит-коды

  • На экране паролей, при вводе кода "DESTR0Y ALL M0NSTERS" активируется особый режим, где Годзилла и Мотра сражаются против всех монстров на Земле.
  • При вводе кода "M0NSTER 0" на экране паролей, игрок окажется на Земле с Кинг Гидорой в роли единственного босса.
  • Ввод кода "START T0 END" на экране паролей показывает концовку игры.
  • Ввод кода "S0UND TEST" на экране паролей позволяет игроку проиграть музыку из японской версии игры.
  • Ввод кода "SEA M0NSTER" на экране паролей переносит игрока на Планету X, где монстры появляются из центра поля.
  • Ввод первых трёх букв из названия мира ("PLU" для Плутона, "MAR" для Марса, и т. д.) в качестве пароля переносит игрока в тот мир, с Мотрой и Годзиллой на первом уровне.
  • Ввод кода "GH1D0RA" на экране паролей переносит игрока в незавершённый неиграбельный уровень.

Интересные факты

  • По мотивам этой игры была написана крипипаста под названием NES Godzilla Creepypasta.
  • Хотя обитатели Планеты X не имеют названия в игре, предположительно они являются ксиленами. Некоторые из их НЛО напоминают НЛО ксиленов из фильма "Годзилла против Монстра Зеро", и они контролируют Кинг Гидору точно так же, как и в фильме, в котором они впервые появились.

FANDOM


Godzilla: Monster of Monsters
Godzilla Monster of Monsters NES
General Information

Developed by:

Compile, Toho Cinefile

Published by:

Toho

Platform(s):

Nintendo Entertainment System

Release date:

1988

Genre(s):

Action, Sidescroller

Chronology

Previous:

The Movie Monster Game

Next:

Godzilla

 

Godzilla: Monster of Monsters! (ゴジラ,   Gojira?, lit. Godzilla) is a 1988 game developed by Compile for the Nintendo Entertainment System.


Story

GMoM ending

Ending screen

"In 2XXX A.D. when the orbits of Pluto and Neptune exchange their positions, the Earth receives a declaration of war from an unknown planet.

The invaders from Planet X attack the Earth as part of their plan to conquer the entire universe using a legion of space monsters. The Earth sends Godzilla and Mothra, to defend itself. Godzilla advances through battle stages called Ring Fields provided in interplanetary space to battle that legion of space monsters controlled by Planet X. Godzilla must battle its way from one Ring Field to another, and finally defeat King Ghidorah at Planet X to defend Earth. For the sake of the future of the Earth, Godzilla's fierce battle now begins..."

Character Details

Godzilla-Monster-of-Monsters

Hex-map layout

Both Godzilla and Mothra start the game at level 1, and with a limited supply of life and power. The monsters can gain levels by defeating bosses and certain stage types (Ruins and Hyperspace); every time Godzilla or Mothra gains a level their life and power bars will increase. The maximum level is 16.

The life bar will replenish once a boss is defeated, or when a Life Capsule is picked up. The power bar recovers by itself over time, and the more life the monster has the faster it recovers.

Advancing

To move to the next world, the remaining monster(s) must move onto the Base Headquarters stage. On the following turn the player must select the monster without moving and the game give the option to advance to the next world. If either Godzilla or Mothra died before advancing, the deceased monster will reappear in the next world; however, the revived monster will lose one level as a result. Things to note: if Godzilla or Mothra advances to the next level, and the other monster left behind is destroyed, the game will be lost. In addition, there is a chance that while exploring the levels, the player can encounter a 'Hyperspace' area. These areas feature battles against the Gohten from The War in Space, Dogora cells, or Matango. Clearing these areas can reward the player with another level.

Characters

Playable Monsters

Bosses

Each world hosts 2-8 bosses, depending on how far the player is, who will attack the player on their way to the enemy base. The player doesn't have to beat the bosses, with the exception of King Ghidorah, to advance in the game, but in general they will be hard to avoid and confrontation is inevitable. Things to note: boss matches (or "Hyper-Fight Mode") last approximately 40 seconds before the match is ended in a draw and both monsters are returned to the Ring Field view; in case of a draw, the enemy kaiju will have its health restored slightly (this differs between the U.S. and Japanese version of the game).

Main Bosses

Gfs 39579 2 4

Boss screen (Godzilla vs. Gezora)

Godzilla: Monster of Monsters features eight bosses, several of whom had not yet appeared in a Godzilla film up to this point. A new boss is added every world, which the player will fight along with the previously defeated monsters. The bosses are:

Other Characters

Scrapped characters

Anguirus and Rodan acquired through glitching the game

The two unused board sprites for Anguirus and Rodan

Through examining the game's coding and sprite data, Rodan and Anguirus have been discovered. Anguirus, called "ANGILAS," is playable in the Japanese version of Monster of Monsters through cheat codes. However, he doesn't have any attacks other than a "destructive walk." Rodan has a board piece in both versions, while sprites for him exist in the game's coding.[1] An unused sprite for Hedorah's flying form can be seen in the game's end credits.

Glitches

Gezora Cheating

Gezora trapping Mothra in the corner of the stage

Some glitches in the game can have favorable benefits to the player, while others serve only to slow him or her down. Gezora can infamously trap the player in the corner of the boss fight and repeatedly deal damage to them until the timer runs out. On the other hand, Moguera can sometimes get stuck in its beam charging animation temporarily, allowing the player to land more hits on the mech.

Cheat codes

  • At the password screen, entering "DESTR0Y ALL MONSTERS" activates a special mode where Godzilla and Mothra fight all the monsters at once on Earth.
  • Entering "Monster 0" at the password screen starts the game on Earth with only King Ghidorah as an enemy.
  • Entering "START T0 END" as the password plays the ending sequence.
  • Entering "sound test" as the password plays some music from the Japanese version.
  • Entering "sea m0nster" as the password will take player to Planet X and will cause all monsters to spawn from the center of the playing board.
  • Entering first 3 letters of any world ("PLU" for "Pluto", "MAR" for "Mars", etc.) as the password will make the player start at that level, with Mothra and Godzilla both being at Level 1.
  • Entering "Gh1d0ra" as the password will take player to an unfinished level which can't be played.

Gallery

Miscellaneous

Videos

Trivia

  • A creepypasta was made about this game, called the NES Godzilla Creepypasta.
  • Although the inhabitants of Planet X in this game aren't given a name, it is possible that they are the Xiliens. Some of the UFOs in the game closely resemble their UFOs from Invasion of Astro-Monster, and they control King Ghidorah, much like their actions in the movie in which they made their debut.
  • The cover art for the game features a picture of the ShodaiGoji suit, while the sprites used for Godzilla in the game more closely resemble the KingGoji or MosuGoji suits.
  • In 2015, the toy company NECA produced a figure of Godzilla based on his appearance in this game.
  • The Angry Video Game Nerd did a review of this game along with other Godzilla games. Satirically saying this game along with the others ruined his childhood.

References

Games
Godzilla video games
1980s Godzilla (Commodore 64)Godzilla and the MartiansGodzilla vs. 3 Giant MonstersFierce Dragon Godzilla: Metropolis Destruction!!Gojira-kunMonster's FairThe Movie Monster GameGodzilla: Monster of MonstersGodzilla (Commodore Plus/4)
1990s Godzilla (Gameboy)Godzilla 2: War of the MonstersBattle Soccer: Champion of the FieldGodzilla, King of the Monsters (Gameboy)Godzilla (PC-9801)Godzilla (Arcade)Super GodzillaGodzilla Wars Jr.Godzilla: Battle LegendsGodzilla: Great Monster BattleGodzilla: The Atomar NightmareGodzilla: Giant Monster MarchGodzilla: Heart-Pounding Monster Island!!Godzilla: Archipelago ShockGodzilla Movie Studio TourG-Patrol VR: Combat SimulatorGodzilla (Pinball)Godzilla: OnlineGodzilla: Trading BattleGodzilla GenerationsGodzilla Generations: Maximum ImpactGodzilla: The Series
2000s Godzilla The Series: Monster WarsGodzilla: Destroy All Monsters MeleeGodzilla: Domination!Godzilla: Save the EarthCR Godzilla 3S-T BattleGodzilla: UnleashedGodzilla Unleashed: Double SmashGodzilla: Pachislot WarsGodzilla: Monster Mayhem (3D)Godzilla: Monster Mayhem (2D)
2010s CR Godzilla: Descent of the Destruction GodGodzilla On Monster IslandGodzilla 60thGodzilla EncounterGodzilla: Smash3Godzilla: Strike ZoneGodzilla: Crisis DefenseMonster StrikeGodzilla (2014 video game)Godzilla: Kaiju CollectionShin Godzilla (PlayStation 4 VR Demo)City Shrouded in Shadow
Gamera video games
1990s Gamera: Guardian of the UniverseGamera: Gyaos Destruction StrategyGamera: 2000
2000s CR Gamera
2010s Gamera: BattleMonster Gear
King Kong video games
1980s King Kong 2: Furious Megaton Punch
Miscellaneous titles
2010s Colossal Kaiju Combat: Kaijuland BattlesThe Fall of Nemesis: Clash of the Kaijujin
Unreleased titles
1990s Rodan (NES)Godzilla: Destroy All Monsters
Board and card games
1970s PachimonGodzilla Game
1990s Godzilla (1998 board game)
2000s Godzilla: Kaiju World Wars
2010s Godzilla: Stomp!Battle Spirits